How Travel Will Make You A More Confident Person

If you want to change your life, change your environment.

Matt Lillywhite
3 min readJun 12, 2020
Photo by Aylin Çobanoğlu on Unsplash

Travel is a great way to explore your sense of self. It took me a while to understand that statement. But when I started visiting dozens of new countries, it didn’t take long for my life to change for the better.

How? Traveling the world made me more confident. It taught me to see things from a new perspective and adopt an entirely different way of thinking.

So if you want to increase your confidence, below are several ways that traveling the world will make that a reality. It’s something that improved every aspect of my life, and I’m sure it will do the same for you.

Here’s how:

You’ll Learn How To Overcome Adversity.

When you travel around the world, things will inevitably go wrong. For example, your plane might get delayed, your luggage may get lost, and many other things will happen that you cannot control. But like the Roman philosopher, Seneca once said:

“A gem cannot be polished without friction, nor a man perfected without trials.”

--

--

Matt Lillywhite

Full-time storyteller. Want to talk about writing? I'm offering video calls for people who sign up to my Substack. https://mattlillywhite.substack.com/