Journal Your Way Through Anxiety To Have A Better Relationship With Your Emotions

Ten minutes per day is more than enough to make an impact.

Matt Lillywhite
5 min readDec 23, 2020
Photo by Ava Sol on Unsplash

I used to be an emotional wreck. My anxiety was high, and my self-esteem was at an all-time low. Negative thoughts often got the best of me. So as you can imagine, it didn’t take long to enter an endless cycle of mental health problems, from which it was incredibly difficult to escape.

Overthinking became commonplace. I struggled to look at myself in the mirror because I was deeply ashamed of what I looked like. Frequent feelings of anxiety took over my mind, and I often struggled to go outside because I was afraid of what other people thought of me. Saying my life sucked would be an understatement.

But one day, I stumbled across the habit of daily journaling. At first, I thought it was some cliche self-help gimmick. Deep down, I was incredibly skeptical. But after trying it out for a few weeks, I noticed the incredible impact it had on my emotional wellbeing. Quoting an article published by Harvard Medical School:

“The act of thinking about an experience, as well as expressing emotions, seems to be important. In this way, writing helps people to organize thoughts and give meaning to a traumatic experience. Or the process of writing…

--

--

Matt Lillywhite

Full-time storyteller, part-time procrastinator. Writing to inspire, entertain, and avoid doing laundry. Substack: https://mattlillywhite.substack.com/subscribe